Women Donors Network | WDN Connect 2021

WDN Connect 2021

Even when the world can feel dark and lonely, together we have the power to light up the night sky. In community, we shine with the discipline of hope, courage, and determination. At WDN Connect 2021, we will Shine On! With all of our light, we will shine on each other, our impact, and our path forward. 

Our powerful virtual programming brings together activists and thought leaders who see the north star on our journey to a more just, equitable, and sustainable world. We will form dazzling constellations to explore some of the most pressing concerns of our time, from the future of our democracy to the future of our planet. Mark November 4-6 on your calendar and join us for three days of collective learning and action.

We are excited to share what we have planned so far. Stay tuned for updates as the conference approaches.

 

3 Days of Ideas, Insights, Inspiration, and Fun!

Fast Facts

• WDN Connect will take place virtually. 

• Daily programming will take place November 4 – 6, 2021. We will offer:

    • Keynotes: Inspiring ways to think bigger.
    • Breakouts: Small group gatherings to get to know one another, learn together, build skills.  
    • Insights from the field: Hear from and engage with leaders and experts from the field.
    • Community activities and networking: Places to forge new relationships and build on existing ones.  

• The registration deadline is November 1, 2021.

• Our conference is open to women donors (cis, trans, and genderqueer) who want to connect, learn, and take action with other changemakers.

• The conference will be hosted on a virtual event platform; you’ll receive access and login information in advance of the program.

Timetable

In the coming weeks, we will provide a more detailed schedule, but for your planning purposes, please block out these main times on your calendar.

Please note that the community meetups may include optional in-person gatherings hosted by members as well as virtual options.

Wednesday

  • 5 pm – 9 pm (Pacific or Eastern, Location-specific) – Pre-Conference Community Meetups

Thursday

  • 10 am – 12 pm PT/ 1 pm – 3 pm ET – Core Programming 
  • 12 pm – 2 pm PT/ 3 pm – 5 pm ET – Afternoon Social Activities 
  • 2 pm – 5 pm PT/ 5 pm – 8 pm ET – Community Meetups

Friday

  • 7 am – 9 am PT/ 10 am – 12 pm ET – Community Coffee Hour
  • 9 am – 2 pm PT/ 12 pm – 5 pm ET – Core Programming 
  • 3 pm – 4 pm PT/ 6 pm – 7 pm ET – Power Hour with the WDN & WDN Action Boards
  • 5 pm – 6:15 pm PT/ 8 pm – 9:15 pm ET – Trivia Night

Saturday

  • 7 am – 9 am PT/ 10 am – 12 pm ET – Community Meetups 
  • 9 am – 1 pm PT/ 12 pm – 4 pm ET – Core Programming 
  • 1 pm – 5 pm PT/ 4 pm – 8 pm ET – Post-Conference Community Meetups

Speakers

Artists & Performers

Session Highlights

We Should Get Together: Cultivating Community

How do we gather and create community after so much time apart during the pandemic? Kat Vellos, a Bay Area designer, writer, and facilitator believes that the number one issue individuals and organizations need to make a priority in the coming years is community connection. This interview with Kat will focus on concepts and questions to provoke reflection and the cultivation of authentic connection in your personal and professional lives and in our WDN community. 

The Coming Reality Crash: This is Your Chance to Build the Future

America is more polarized than any point since the civil rights era. That polarization is masking an even bigger social phenomenon: the coming reality crash. The systems we know are collapsing, at least in the form we now know them. Women in philanthropy can choose a path: fund the way funding has long been done, or powerfully fund visionary efforts to co-create the world we want to live in. In this keynote session with Farai Chideya, we’ll talk about how we shift power to build a new, more equitable, more sustainable, and more joyful world.

Women Leaders Shine On

Women have always been at the forefront of radical change. From fighting for climate justice to the freedom to vote, the visionary organizing of our grantees shines a light on women’s leadership and the power and purpose of our work together.

Our North Star: WDN’s Equity Journey 

We aspire to be an anti-racist, multigenerational, feminist network that shifts power and works to decolonize philanthropy. Join us for an interactive conversation with Susan Mooney and Aba Taylor from the Interaction Institute for Social Change to learn about WDN’s equity work and how you can get involved.

The Stars Align: When Movement Meets Politics

In this special session hosted by WDN Action, we’ll hear from an all-star lineup about the political landscape and how we build progressive power that is rooted in movements. Moderated by Katrina Gamble, WDN Action Advisor and Founder of Sojourn Strategies.

 

3 Days of Ideas, Insights, Inspiration, and Fun!

Stay Connected